2019 Annual Meeting

Securing sustainable futures

Designing, planning, and making decisions on policies, practices, and infrastructures  under deep uncertainty

November 5-7, 2019

Hosts: Delft University of Technology and Deltares

Delft University of Technology
Faculty of Technology, Policy and Management
Jaffalaan 5, Delft, the Netherlands

Humanity is striving for a better and more sustainable future for all. Initiatives like the United Nation’s Sustainable Development Goals and the European Union’s focus on societal challenges or disaster-resilient societies exemplify this.

Nevertheless there remains a gap between agreeing on objectives, and translating these objectives into action. Whether the focus is on alleviating poverty, reducing hunger, promoting peace and justice, ensuring socially inclusive economic development, mitigating climate change, adapting to a changing climate, or protecting and restoring ecosystems, in moving from objectives to actions, deep uncertainty is omnipresent. Investments and policy decisions in these and other fields often have significant and often long-term consequences. At the same time, the increasing number and severity of disruptions and their cascading effects related to climate change, societal fragmentation, and instability require near-term decisions and action(s) across all scales. Making sound and coordinated near-term decisions is critical, precisely because we live in an increasingly unpredictable dynamic world governed by competing and changing beliefs and preferences. This year’s theme is ‘Securing sustainable futures’.

Local organizing committee

Jan Kwakkel (Delft University of Technology)
Marjolijn Haasnoot (Deltares, Utrecht University)
Sadie McEvoy (Deltares, Delft University of Technology)
Bramka Jafino (Delft University of Technology)
Vincent Marchau (Radboud University)

Scientific advisory committee

David Groves (RAND Corporation)
Judy Lawrence (Victoria University of Wellington)
Julie Rozenberg (World Bank)
Robert Solly (Defence Science and Technology Laboratory)
Warren Walker (Delft University of Technology)
Pieter Bloemen (Delta Programme, IHE Delft)