New Career Office Hours added

In September, we announced a series of office hours as part of a virtual career mentoring program. We are announcing two new office hours for December and January with Dr. Robert Lempert and Prof. Jan Kwakkel, respectively. More information below: December 15th 9am PT/12pm ET/6pm CET – Robert Lempert Robert…

read more

Collaboration Opportunity: Robust and adaptive planning under deep uncertainties for space-based solar power

Blog post contributed by Kostas Konstantinidis. The European Space Agency (ESA) recently posted a call on space-based solar power on its idea platform (OSIP), to which I submitted a DMDU-relevant idea titled “Robust and adaptive planning under deep uncertainties for space-based solar power” that might be of interest to DMDU society members. The idea…

read more

Practical challenges in the applications of DMDU

By Tania Lopez-Cantu Throughout progress in scientific discovery and technological advancement, engineers and scientists have learned how to approach modeling of a specific physical phenomena bounded by a set of unknown but well-defined rules or choosing the best alternative out of a constrained set of possible alternatives. Under these and…

read more

Mainstreaming resilience science, approaches, and tools in the water resources sector

By Homero Paltan and Diego Juan Rodriguez Over the last few years, Decision Making Under Deep Uncertainty (DMDU) methodologies and approaches have gained popularity to identify and address uncertainties which may affect the water sector. These uncertainties have ranged from climate change, demographic and demand shifts, or situations where stakeholders…

read more