DMDU Regional and Special Interest groups are member-led committees devoted to advancing the DMDU Society’s mission in specific regions and fields, which focus on enhancing the society’s representation and contribution to communities worldwide.

The DMDU society currently has eight member groups: five regional and three special interest groups. 

How to get involved:

  • Reach out to the group chair of the groups you would like to get involved with (their contact information is listed below)
  • Reach out to DMDU membership chair Pedro N. de Lima  ( if you would like to form a new member group for a currently unrepresented region or community.

Regional Groups

  • DMDU Europe
  • Chair: David Gold (, Utrecht University
  • Steering Committee: Charles Rouge, University of Sheffield; Jazmin Zatarain Salazar, TU Delft; Ingo Schönwandt, Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e. V. 
  • DMDU Latin America 
  • Chair: Conceição de Maria Albuquerque Alves (, University of Brasilia, Brazil
  • Steering Committee: Matias Paredes-Vergara, University of Chile; Yosune Miquelajauregui, LANCIS/UNAM; Edmundo Molina Pérez, Tec Monterrey; Sara Diane Turner, World Bank;
  • DMDU UK 
  • Chair: Dr Anna Murgatroyd (, University of Oxford
  • Steering Committee: Dr Mark Workman, Imperial College London; Dr Martine J Barons, University of Warwick; Dr Anna Murgatroyd, University of Oxford
  • DMDU Canada
  • Chair: Vanessa Schweizer (, University of Waterloo
  • Steering Committee: Yena Bassone-Quashie, Toronto Metropolitan University; Kasra Motlaghzadeh, University of Waterloo; Eric Noel, Initiator of the Canada Towards 2030 Project; Umme Kulsum, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • DMDU Oceania
  • Chair: Abel Immaraj(, Aurecon Australasia
  • Steering Committee : Dr Joseph Guillaume, Australian National University ; Dr Andrew Allison, National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research New Zealand ; Dr Shirin Malekpour, Monash University, Australia ; Dr Sanath Kahagalage, University of New South Wales ; Dr Sam Skinner, Aurecon Australasia

Special interest groups:

  • DMDU SIG for Defense and Critical Infrastructure Security
  • Chair: Joseph Ponnoly (, Independent Researcher and Management Consultant Cybersecurity
  • Steering Committee: Nick Martin, Aerospace Corporation (USA); Patrick Steinmann, TNO (Netherlands); Eric Noel, Oxford Analytics (Canada); Sanath Kahagalage, Univ of New South Wales (Australia); Joseph Ponnoly, Independent Researcher & Cybersecurity Consultant (USA)
  • TranspOrt anD urbAn sYstems (TODAY)
  • Chair: Mikhail Sirenko (TUDelft) (
  • Steering Committee: Filip Saad, Royal Haskoning DHV; Karoline Führer, TUDelft; Irene van Droffelaar, TUDelft; Vincent Marchau, TUDelft and Radboud University Nijmegen; Charlene Röhr, MOTT Macdonald 
  • DMDU in Health
  • Chair: Pedro Nascimento de Lima (, Associate Engineer, RAND Corporation
  • Steering Committee: Saba Hinrichs-Krapels, Associate Professor, TuDelft; Jonathan Ozik, Principal Computational Scientist, Argonne National Laboratory;  Anna Hotton, Research Associate Professor,  University of Chicago;  Thomas Trikalinos, Professor of Health Services, Brown University; Henry Willis, Senior Policy Researcher, RAND Corporation